Understanding Asian American and Pacific Islander Experience: Resource List

In addition to the three-panel series presented in May 2021, below is a list of resources available to further understanding of our diverse Asian American and Pacific Islander communities. 

This resource list is intended to be a starting point for learning more about the Asian American and Pacific Islander experiences and is not all encompassing of the many resources available to the community.

Websites

AAPI Data: https://aapidata.com/

An Introduction to South Asian American History | South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA): https://www.saada.org/resources/introduction

Asian Americans Advancing Justice | AAJC: https://www.advancingjustice-aajc.org/

Asian Americans/Pacific Islanders in Philanthropy: https://aapip.org/what-we-do/supporting-api-communities-resource-directory

Asian American Racial Justice Toolkit: https://www.asianamtoolkit.org/

Cornell University Anti-Racism Resources for the AAPI Community: https://asianamericanstudies.cornell.edu/anti-racism-resources-aapi-community

NCAPA | National Council of Asian Pacific Americans: https://www.ncapaonline.org/

Southeast Asia Resource Action Center (SEARAC): https://www.searac.org/

Stop AAPI Hate: https://stopaapihate.org/

UCLA Asian American Studies Department: https://asianam.ucla.edu/

UCLA Asian American Studies Center: http://www.aasc.ucla.edu/

Books

Santa Clara County Library District Recommended Reading for All Ages: https://sccld.org/blogs/post/asian-american-and-pacific-islander-heritage-month/

All You Can Ever Know by Nicole Chung

America Is In The Heart by Carlos Bulosan

Asian American Dreams by Helen Zia

China Men by Maxine Hong Kingston

From a Whisper to a Rallying Cry by Paula Yoo

I Hotel by Karen Tei Yamashita

It Began With a Page by Kyo Maclear and Julie Morstad

Interior Chinatown by Charles Yu

Managing Multicultural Lives: Asian Americans and the Challenge of Multiple Identities and Asian America by Pawan Dhingra

Minor Feelings by Cathy Park Hong

Multiracial Identity and Racial Politics in the United States by Natalie Masuoka

Native Speaker by Chang-Rae Lee

Strangers from a Different Shore by Ronald Takaki

The Making of Asian America by Erika Lee

The Myth of the Model Minority by Rosalind S. Chou and Joe R. Feagin

The Politics of Belonging: Race, Public Opinion and Immigration by Natalie Masuoka and Jane Junn

This Time Will Be Different by Misa Sugiura

They Called Us Enemy by George Takei, Justin Eisinger, and Steve Scott

Yellow Peril! edited by John Kuo Wei Tchen and Dylan Yeats

Yellow: Race in America Beyond Black and White by Frank Wu

Videos & Film

Asian American Heroes and Allies | Honoring AAPI Stories | Dr. Helen Hsu | Sarah Sums It Up:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ccz_t3rGYQM

Asian Americans series on PBS: https://www.pbs.org/show/asian-americans/

Korematsu Institute: https://korematsuinstitute.org/award-winning-psa/

Minari: https://a24films.com/films/minari

Pacific Islander Poetry Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLxdhhYadU_WjlGLq0AM3Nt861jepqq6dz

The Chinese Exclusion Act  | PBS - American Experience: https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/americanexperience/films/chinese-exclusion-act

Understanding #StopAsianHate | History & Context with Dr. Helen Hsu | Sarah Sums It Up: https://youtu.be/FxCwu056T5E

We Need to Talk About Anti-Asian Hate: https://youtu.be/14WUuya94QE

Podcasts

Anti-Asian Sentiment During Covid: https://www.atstpodcast.com/podcast/episode/23292657/anti-asian-sentiment-during-covid

Asian Americana Asian American culture and history: http://www.asianamericana.com/

Asian Enough: https://open.spotify.com/show/1VHaUWtap7fCvZy7KuSGLj

At the Moment: Asian American News https://open.spotify.com/show/2C05fwgTPTwwEXN58qty5q

Self-Evident: Asian America’s Stories https://selfevidentshow.com/

Courses

Bystander Intervention Training: https://www.ihollaback.org/bystanderintervention/

CAIR Identifying and Interrupting Microaggressions Workshop: https://ca.cair.com/sfba/what-we-do/outreach-education/workshops/

Bay Area Destinations

Chinese American Historical Museum: https://chcp.org/Museum

Chinese Cultural Garden: https://www.chineseculturalgarden.org/

Hakone Estate and Gardens (Saratoga):  https://www.hakone.com/

Community days available monthly.

Japanese American Museum of San Jose: https://www.jamsj.org/

“Nihonmachi” | Japantown San Jose: https://jtown.org/

©2021 County of Santa Clara. All rights reserved.