Awards and Recognition

Board of Supervisors (2013 - Present)

BHP Award
  • American Muslim Voice Foundation - Virtuous Public Official Award
  • Armenian Apostolic Church - St. Nerses the Graceful Medal of Honor
  • Asian Americans for Community Involvement (AACI) - Health Champion Award
  • California Library Association - President's Award
  • Eden Housing - Civic Leader of the Year 2022
  • Fast Company Magazine - First Place, 2016 Policy Hackathon
  • Foothill-De Anza Community College District - Amicus Collegii
  • Friends of Buena Vista Mobile Home Park - Thank You Resolution
  • Institute for Nonviolence - Civil Rights Award
  • Kids in Common - Bold Steps for Children Award
  • Kiwanis Club of Palo Alto - Honorary Member 
  • Leadership Sunnyvale - Political Leader Award
  • Los Altos Chamber of Commerce - New Member of the Year
  • Magical Bridge Foundation - Recognition as a Most M​agical Person 
  • National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) San Jose/Silicon Valley - Legislator of the Year
  • Parents Helping Parents - Building Bright Futures Award
  • Project We Hope - Advocate for the Homeless
  • Recovery Cafe San Jose - Bridge Builder Award
  • Rotary Club of Los Altos - Paul Harris Fellow
  • San Andreas Regional Center - Legislator of the Year, Service Above Self Award
  • Santa Clara County Behavioral Health Board - Community Hero Award
  • Santa Clara County Democratic Club – Award for Leadership and Service to the Community 
  • Santa Clara County PTA (Sixth District) – Golden Oak Service Award​
  • Santa Cruz, City of - Pollution Prevention Award​
  • Saratoga City Council - Commendation for Service to the Saratoga Senior Center
  • Saratoga Senior Center - 30th Anniversary Honor, Commitment to Senior Care
  • ​Save Our Shores - Ocean Hero of the Year​
  • Sierra Club (Loma Prieta Chapter) - Environmental Hero
  • Silicon Valley Council of Nonprofits - Changemaker Award
  • Silicon Valley Leadership Group (SVLG) – Game Changer
  • Sunnyvale Chamber of Commerce - Murphy Award
  • Unity Care - Gratitude Award

State Legislature (2000-2012)


Canopy event
  • Bluewater Network - Environmental Leadership Award
  • Breathe California - Clean Air Award for Leadership
  • Californians Against Waste - Legislator of the Year​
  • California Park & Recreation Society Honor Roll
  • Environment California - Environmental Champion​
  • Green California - Environmental Champion​
  • Mid-Peninsula Regional Open Space District - Resolution for authoring SB 953 and support of district
  • Santa Clara County League of Conservation Voters - Legislator of the Year
  • Vote the Coast - Coastal Steward Award; Coastal Champion Award

K-12 Education

  • The Advancement Projectment - Water Cooler Conference Award (SB 1381 - The Kindergarten Readiness Act)​
  • Association of California School Administrators - Friend of Education
  • Association of Low Wealth Schools - Legislator of the Year
  • California Association of Student Councils - Legislator of the Year
  • California County Boards of Education - Outstanding Legislator of the Year
  • California County Superintendents Educational Services Association - Legislator of the Year
  • California Kindergarten Association - Special Recognition Award for the Kindergarten Readiness Act (SB 1381)​
  • California League of Middle Schools - Legislator of the Year
  • California Network of Educational Charters - California Legislator of the Year
  • California Reading Association - Policymaker of the Year
  • California School Boards Association - Outstanding Legislator of the Year
  • California PTA – Honorary Service Award
  • Early Intervention for School Success (EISS) - Education Advocate of the Year 2012
  • Menlo Park PTO (​Parent Teacher Organization) Honorary Service Award
  • Palo Alto Council of PTAs - Recognition for Leadership in Legislative Advocacy
  • Palo Alto Educators’ Association - Sally Siegel Friend of Education
  • Preschool California - Early Learning Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Ravenswood City School District - Resolution for Legislative Advocacy
  • San Mateo County PTA (Seventeenth District)  - Continuing Service Award
  • Schools for Sound Finance (SF)² - Saving Our Bacon Award​
  • Schools for Sound Finance (SF)² - Special Friend of Basic Aid Schools
  • Springboard Schools (currently Pivot Learning) - Education Leader of the Year

Higher Education

Senate Award
  • Alumni Associations of the University of California - Legislator of the Year
  • California State University System - Legislator of the Year
  • San Mateo County Community College District - Courage in Educational Leadership Award
  • Silicon Valley Alliance - Adult and Career Educator of the Year

Children & Youth

  • California Children’s Health Initiatives - Champion for Children Award
  • Child Care Coordinating Council (4 C’s) of San Mateo County - The Mary Petsche Award for Visionary Leadership
  • Child Development Policy Institute - Children’s Champion Award
  • Friends for Youth - Making a Difference Award

​​Safety & Consumer Protection

  • CalPIRG - Consumer Champion Award
  • Consumer Federation of California - Consumer Leadership Award
  • Fight Crime: Invest in Kids California - Crime Fighter Award
  • Elder Financial Protection Network - Donald N. Phelps Visionary Award
  • Are You Dense? - Champion of Exposing the Secret

​Business & Technology

  • AeA (American Electronics Association) - High-Tech Legislator of the Year
  • Center for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Technologies (CEERT) - Clean Power Champion
  • Design-Build Institute of America - Distinguished Leadership Award
  • Power Association of Northern California - Person of the Year
  • RSA Conference - Award for Excellence in Public Policy
  • SC Media/Magazine - Industry Pioneer, Information Security 
  • Scientific American - One of the “Scientific American 50” Leaders in Technology
  • SolarTech - Solar Hero Award
  • Sunnyvale Chamber of Commerce - Murphy Award


  • Alliance for Community Media, Western States - Community Media Legislative Champion​
  • American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) of Santa Cruz County - True Patriot Award​
  • Arthritis Foundation (Northern California) – Public Policy Award
  • California Library Association - Legislator of the Year
  • California National Organization for Women (NOW) - Legislator of the Year
  • Council of State Governments - Henry Toll Fellowship
  • CreaTV San Jose - Community Media Champion
  • Equality California – Building a State of Equality Award
  • Jewish Community Center - JCC Community Service Award
  • Junior Leagues of California - Legislator of the Year
  • League of California Cities - Outstanding Leadership 
  • National Multiple Sclerosis Society - California Legislator of the Year
  • National Women's Political Caucus (NWPC), San Mateo/Santa Clara County Chapter - Good Guy Award
  • Peninsula Interfaith Action - Community Hero
  • Planned Parenthood Advocates (Mar Monte) - Voices for Change Legislator Award
  • Redwood City Public Library - “Fueling the Fire of Hope” Award
  • San Andreas Regional Center - Legislator of the Year
  • Santa Clara County Democratic Club – Distinguished Legislator Award
  • Silicon Valley Asian Pacific American Democratic Club - Legislator of the Year

©2023 County of Santa Clara. All rights reserved.